Days FIve and Six in Puerto Rico…A Little Lazy

After kayaking to reach the biobay, my arms were kind of sore. I woke up quite late. I then went to the national historic site with Génesis, my host and her two dogs. They became quickly popular with the people there with all the running and playing around like psychos.

Génesis told me a lot of things about the fort there, and the history of Puerto Rico. We saw a cargo ship pull up to the shore. She told me about the islands around and some more things. We then had Helados Caribe. I paid $4 for the two cups. Coconut flavor melted in my mouth. We then headed back home, and dropped the dogs. After that we went to Asahi, a sushi place in Rio Piedras. It’s quite good and they cook a lot of stuff for pleasing the local Puerto Rican palate. They even have mofongo. I had one of the only two options for vegetarians, seaweed salad (I am not a big seaweed fan but it was quite good). We had two beers too. We split the bill and it was $20 (it would have been less because I had stuff worth $10 but I wanted to split it equally). Then we went to the store and bought a bottle of wine worth $10. I paid for it.

Here are some pictures from the beautiful place:

Wedded

Wedded

Beyond is the sea

Beyond is the sea

Kite Flying

Kite Flying

Fey looking for Panda

Fey looking for Panda

Cemetery

Cemetery

When home we had wine and Géne and her sister told me more about Puerto Rico’s history, and the atrocities meted out on Puerto Rico and the people there by the USA. If you are interested in knowing some of these facts here is a link: http://listverse.com/2012/10/26/8-atrocities-committed-again-puerto-rico-by-the-us/ . Besides, rainforests, coral reefs, mangroves have and effect on ecosystem that is highly critical. These things have been tampered with, with species going extinct, depletion. You will know about these things if you loved your subjects of Geography and Science in school (and later too). It’s scary, what’s happening. To lighten the mood, we saw funny videos after smoking up and then retired for the day.

The next day Géne, her twin sister, two dogs, and I went to a beach in Isla Verde. I do not know the name of this beach, and it’s not exactly hidden, but tourists just don’t know about it. Only locals come here. A lot of buildings are around in the area and you can see them right next to the beach too, but it’s a very beautiful beach. I snorkeled here and saw some fish in the water. I saw my own reflection too, while floating on my stomach. It was lovely. We spent a long time here and the sun was out in full glory. Try to find this beach; it should not be too difficult.

isla verde 1 isla verde 2 isla verde 3

The water is more beautiful than what the phone could capture. My phone was working on and off because of water in it from kayaking. I had put in a sealed cover but when Peter clicked the pictures he had not bothered to wipe his hands.

After, we went to a cute cafe named Café Tresbé, which is not too far from the beach. I had their excellent vegetarian sliders with sweet potato fries, coconut hot sauce, and papaya hot sauce. I also had their mixed fruit smoothie with coconut milk. Puerto RIco has amazing smoothies everywhere. I also paid for one other person’s meal. All of it just cost me $20. The cafe’s logo and tag translates to – good, pretty, and cheap. Perfect! It of course has cool graffiti on its walls too.

Cafe Tresbe 3          Cafe Tresbe 

   Cafe Tresbe 2          Cafe Tresbe 1

We then came back home, took shower, and went out to buy cider and cat food. We got two bottles and I paid for one. Guess how much? Well, $2. Later Géne’s sister went out again and bought munchies. I had fries with lots of mayo ketchup. We had cider together and then went to sleep. I had a plan for the next day. I also had a plan B, if that did not work out.

Leave a Reply

