Madly MadMen

Spoiler alert, if you aren’t watching the finale already, and actually reading the review for season four with a spoiler alert.

I got to read and review an entire book within two days, as a part of my course work. But here I am, watching and reviewing the entire season four of Mad Men. It’s the epitome of drama. But that’s not my niggling need to write about it.

Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce emerges and falls in this season. They aren’t monopolizing advertising anymore. Work consumes all the brilliant people working here, and they impress us with their devotion. If you had ever been married to your work, you will love these episodes to the bits. There have been days when my work has given me the sole purpose to carry on and look forward to something, and this season made some memories rush past.

Peggy Olson shines through, carving her way to the top with male chauvinists around her. She balances love and office, the way she would like it, and it is sheer fun to watch this cute little button do what she does. Don Draper blows your mind with how he tries to keep his feet steady and head straight. He tries to find some purpose outside of work, and how he does it can again evoke some memories, if you have been through such turmoils.

Roger and Joan get back for some more, and this was well-predicted. For a vain Roger, he can’t go back to his old withering ex-wife, nor deal with another child-like wife, who is no different than his own daughter. He is the best clown I have seen on TV. Child actress, Sally deserves cheek pulls and kisses and pats, with her surly mother moping around, and trying to get it all together. Yet failing, every time. Pete is a hidden diamond.

The night in office, between Peggy and Don, was my favorite. Hats off to the person who wrote the story, to the person who executed it, and to the actors, who played their roles.

Don’s struggle with his past and present, and meandering to set his life straight, is put out in a very deep yet credulous manner. Some things that Don says in his own head, stayed with me. I could be biased, but I can argue that I have felt very similarly many times.

Finally, he finds a wife for himself from among a lot of women, very impulsively. I have a strong feeling that Megan has caught him in her web, and married him not out of love. She does not give the right kind of vibe, for some reason. She could smell his vulnerability, I think. Any other woman would have been just fine.

Last thing to say, it’s not just about me relating with what happened with a lot of characters. All I am trying to say is that, it’s something that can happen. It plays its responsibility of showing the older times as it would have been. It shows the gender inequality just as it would be. It portrays everything just perfectly. It shows the ups and downs of life as it would be, and does not try to sell any BS to the viewer. To top it, the playlist is super. Some originals by David Carbonara, some covers, and other oldies just as they are – they all touch your soul.

Some of my favorite dialogues are the simplest ones, and actually Don’s thoughts, which would make them monologues. Unless you want to call them a dialogue between you and yourself. Anyway…

Summer’s coming. I could smell it.

I sound like a little girl, writing down what happened today.

A list of things I’d like to do: 1. Climb Mt. Kilimanjaro. Go anywhere in Africa, actually. 2. Gain a modicum of control over the way I feel.

I like sleeping alone, stretching out like a skydiver, cool patches to hold on to. I should appreciate it more often.

When a man walks into a room, he brings his whole life with him. He has a million reasons for being anywhere, just ask him.

Enjoy some good music – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Psj2T8GSxfE&index=5&list=PL6p8LbpVclkSMQRZIpUJgw0234JC5sfJm

Leave a Reply

