My God is Cool. It Lets me Do What I Want To.

Like always, lot of homework and a disease of the week make me think and meditate.

Late in the night, in the bus, my friend cribs. She talks about about “someone” picking her up from one city and throwing her into another, about not having a peaceful life, about faulty stars, about why she is being targeted by him (that “someone”). I try to make her understand. My problems are not very different from hers, it’s just that she does not know that they exist. Later I tell her that her only problem is that she won’t stop cribbing. But she does not stop. Then I start whistling “free bird”, because that is the song that is going on in the bus.

There is no good or bad, no karma. Oh yeah, that’s my understanding of things. You may do a hundred good things and zero bad things, and wonder why nothing good comes your way. Well, if you want a particular thing to come your way, work for it, and not toward other hundred unrelated good things. Your God is watching and knows that you have ulterior motives. Likewise, you see your archenemy and wonder why only good things happen to them. Well, they are probably smarter than you, and also know how to not crib and let the world know that they have problems.

Anyway, I think what you get boils down to two things – how stupid you are, and the odds associated with your stupidity. If you are smart, odds are in your favour. If you are stupid, odds are not in your favour. But then that is what odds are – probability (which many call luck). My God is watching me, and like me, it is cool with everything. It drinks beer, eats popcorn, and watches a movie as its created live. It also has a sarcastic sense of humour.

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time. (That’s odds and stupidity.) – Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

