Brunch time news

I do not want to meet people today, because I do not want to over-observe and over-think. An old man enters office. My boss introduces us to each other. The guy asks me what I am majoring in. He hears only the marketing part of it, looks at my boss and goes – oh! I do not understand the need to market if the product is that good. In my mind, I am like – old dude, shut the fuck up. I tell him – marketing analytics is my major, and it is actually quite different from marketing. I want to make a point about marketing, but I think I can settle with just clearing the doubt. Then he says – big data! oh! I am quite interested in that. My brain makes a smiley *rolls eyes, a bit too much*

This dude is interested in big data (a term overused and least understood by people these days), and not in marketing? What is he? A teenage girl counting the number of guys who are crazy about her? Even she could help with a bit of marketing, how much ever hot a product she thinks she is. Darn! I need to get out, so as to eat something, because I have not had anything to eat since morning, if not to avoid people.

I take a brunch break. Sounds good – brunch break. I do not go to the cafe today. Actually, I do. But I come out again, and go to my favourite breakfast place in the town. I want tea, and pancakes or french toasts. I want food to fix me, as much as it can. And, I want to avoid people. Cafe has many specimen to observe.

I sit on a table top, call for my brunch, and stare at the three big ass TV screens in front of me. Classic shows for mornings going on – one has tennis, one has rich people dressed up a tad too well discussing breakfast options, and the last has news going on. I leave alone the first screen, and stick with breakfast (it guarantees that it’s going to be funny), and news (informative). No sounds, only treat for eyes. Good.

News shows stock prices. I do not understand shit about stock market. But there are flash news too, tid-bits of information. Breakfast channel has food nicely made and arranged in proper cutlery. They are tagged with names like fruit parfait, chicken something something, this something something, that something something. Oh yes, tags also have calories written against each food item. People are pointing at them, and saying things. Discussing intently. Nobody seems to be wanting to eat these something somethings. Funny as hell. Back to news.

There are flashes of important news. Or so I think. Until I read – A man in India claims that his father was dragged out of a boat and taken away by a tiger. I really feel bad for the family of that man, really do. But why is this an international news? What kind of purpose does this information serve in a first world country, apart from that of mystic awe and entertainment, when they think of a place like India. I did not take any offence, and it’s a complete coincidence that I happen to be an Indian. I cannot care less about it. My concern is, the kind of picture that is painted. There are much bigger problems that a lot of countries like India are facing, and that never seem to be covered on international news for some reason. People are obsessed with big earrings, snake charmers, tigers and lions and elephants and peacocks, pots, cutlery, and such other things about such countries. Yes, these things are beautiful, very beautiful. Cover them under entertainment, or small news. But not something that should make it to international flash news, with fruit parfait and calorie discussions going on on the other side. There are bigger problems facing every developed, developing, and underdeveloped countries.

I realize that I need to stop my train of thoughts. Stomach is full, head too. I have over-observed and over-thought. I leave the place, to go back to work.

Leave a Reply

