Of places, people, etc. etc.

I have always wanted to visit Kashmir. They say it’s a lost beauty. I was a part of small birthday party of an old Israeli man today, and the conversation he had with us brought back all of this to me. I had once planned a trip to Ladakh with my friends. We had to can it, and it was one of the worst moments of my life. Those who know what Ladakh is like will know why canning a trip to a place can be the worst and most disappointing moment for someone.

I had long ago read Shalimar the Clown by Salman Rushdie. Salman Rushdie is one hell of a writer, and you have to read between the lines, dig out meanings, to try and understand what he is trying to say. He says two stories in one book – one story, which a poor reader does not understand, and another, which a rich reader understands, and falls in love with. Shalimar the Clown paints a very poignant picture of Kashmir, and ever since I read the book, I have been wanting to go there even more.

Cheers to Led Zeppelin for this, a song for any place that can inspire, really – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfR_HWMzgyc

Leave a Reply

